Shea Left Off USA Gold Cup Roster; Ceren and Larin Called Up



As expected, Orlando City will be without a couple of key players for the bulk of July, however, one of them is not Brek Shea, who was left off the United States roster for the upcoming CONCACAF Gold Cup. Darwin Ceren and Cyle Larin were named to their nation’s 23-man roster. Ceren will represent El Salvador and Larin will appear for his native Canada.

The Shea move is a bit surprising, as he has been a regular call-up for Jurgen Klinsmann since January’s Camp Cupcake. However, Paul Tenorio of the Orlando Sentinel cited a leg injury as a potential cause, and news that DaMarcus Beasley (who wasn’t selected either) had shown a willingness to come out of retirement seemed to indicate that Klinsmann was still searching for an answer at left back. Shea may still very well appear in the tournament for the USMNT, because roster changes can be made after the group stage.

Should the Americans win, they will represent CONCACAF in the next Confederations Cup in Russia, ahead of the 2018 World Cup. If the U.S. loses, it will play whoever wins this summer’s tournament in a one-game playoff for the right to go to the Confederations Cup.

Ceren has been a fixture for El Salvador. He scored a goal in his club's recent World Cup qualifier win against St. Kitts and Nevis.

Larin has scored goals in three consecutive international appearances for Canada, including both recent legs of World Cup qualifying against Dominica. His loss up top means we’ll likely see more of Pedro Ribeiro up top, and possibly Carlos Rivas and Bryan Rochez as well. Rochez was left off of the Honduras Gold Cup roster.

Here's your USMNT roster for the group stage:

GOALKEEPERS (3): Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake), William Yarbrough (Club Leon)

DEFENDERS (7): Ventura Alvarado (Club America), John Brooks (Hertha Berlin), Timmy Chandler (Eintracht Frankfurt), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Fabian Johnson (Borussia Mönchengladbach), Tim Ream (Bolton Wanderers)

MIDFIELDERS (9): Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Mix Diskerud (New York City FC), Alfredo Morales (Ingolstadt), DeAndre Yedlin (Tottenham Hotspur), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

FORWARDS (4): Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Aron Johannsson (AZ Alkmaar), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)


Exit mobile version